abhiroopb

Which headphone for a newb?

I'm a bit of newb to headphones. I have been using a pair of Bose In Ear headphones for a while now. They're average really, and I would like to get something a little better.

I generally, use Cnet reviews as a starting point as they tend to have a huge list of products. Looking here I found that the Koss PortalPro was quite highly rated as well as the Sennheiser HD280 or HD485.

As for price I am looking in the range of SGD100 - SGD150. If there is a good deal I'd be happy to take a look at something slightly more.

I enjoy rock music as well as a little bit of pop and hip-hop.

These headphones will be almost exclusively for outdoor use (commuting on the bus and mrt and on planes). So, while noise cancelling is useful I detest headphones that stop working when the battery dies out. Hence, I am looking for something that has a good comfortable fit and that does not leak any sound. Obviously, this also means that portability is an issue but I don't mind them hanging around my neck anyway.

I intend to go to The Adelphi to have a look at a few options (and try them out), but, I would appreciate it if I could get some idea of what kind of headphones would be a good fit for me.

Thanks in advance

Since its going to be for portable, iem would be the best choice for you.

They would provide you with one of the highest level of isolation with a proper seal.

Do try out the following. (Judging from your budget, slightly exceed it abit)

-Westone um1

-Westone 1

-Ultimate Ear SF3

-Shure iems(Ask the staff about it, not that sure about the model at that price range)