Plock

To Amp, or Not to Amp ?

Well, I'm a total newbie to all these and I came across amps when looking for headphones.

So I've got a A-jays three and Sansa Clip+ and I was wondering if adding an amp will do any good?

If so, I was thinking of the Fiio E6. And then there is also the Madcap Penguin amps which look so friggin' cool.

But what's holding me back is the cost of the amps. (since my earphones don't exactly cost alot)

Hoping to get good advice from you guys

Edited by Plock

Well, I'm a total newbie to all these and I came across amps when looking for headphones.

So I've got a A-jays three and Sansa Clip+ and I was wondering if adding an amp will do any good?

If so, I was thinking of the Fiio E6. And then there is also the Madcap Penguin amps which look so friggin' cool.

But what's holding me back is the cost of the amps. (since my earphones don't exactly cost alot)

Hoping to get good advice from you guys

You really need to try one or more, because the results will not be consistent. Most amps will make a slight improvement, some will make a big improvement, and some will not improve things at all. In the last case it's not because the amp isn't good, it's just that sometimes the electronics don't match up ideally, and you can't be sure from the specs. If you search a lot of forums for your particular headphones, you may get additional info. If you find an amp that improves things with your current headphone, it may not help much with a different headphone.