loop_

Review: Twinkle headphone Amp DIY kit (with pics)

IPB Image

Posting a review of this kit. The main purpose is to encourage those who are interested into going into audio diy but think that they don't possess the requisite skills. It's not that difficult really, if you start with the right kit. The main problem I faced was the lack of good safety practices i.e. I let electric current pass through me more than once.... :rclxub:

I got introduced to audio DIY just under a year ago, when I bought a zen headphone amp from Digi, and got Huangyong to change the caps for me. Thanks to huangyong, I have lost a lot of money since.... =(

Anyway, I was an arts student in JC, and only have sec 4 physics skills, which is nonsense. I still don't know what current, voltage and wattage means, but I can do a proper solder. Frankly, that, and some guts, is all you need, plus lots of ppl on MSN whom you can bug. haha

INFO

I bought the kit from erji.net from Mr. Dou. http://www.erji.net/read.php?tid=260272&fpage=1

Basically, this is s a 3 channel design (you can make it 2 only as well) which employs an OPAMP plus Diamond buffer, a little similar to the PPA. The kit comes with everything you'll need to set the boards up except for the opamps. It also comes with a manual, in chinese, on how to set this thing up. The manual is a great help (it's in .pdf on the forum link), but is in chinese. Reading a chinese storybook is one thing, reading a chinese technical manual is quite another!

You'll still need to get your own casing, toroid, and other stuff for your case like switches and volume knob etc. Total cost for the kit including shipping (shared EMS with 2 others to Singapore) was about 75-80sgd.

I bought my casing from www.hifidiy.net. Also bought a 50K alps pot, and a great multimeter (the UT52 for $23sgd only) The total cost for this purchase was high, because of the shipping ($40, not EMS). The casing is very heavy, but well built.