Sign in to follow this  
huangyong

CDP mod + opa627BP commend

Modded my CDP 2 days ago. Throw in 2 x OPA627BP + Burn in for 12 hours = WOW!!! w00t.gifw00t.gifw00t.gifheadphone.gif

Backgroud:

I bought a second hand CDP to learn how to mod. It's a German Made Denon-715, 8xoversampling, using PCM61 technology. After spending days of circuit analysis, the CDP deisgn is rather strange ohmy.gif ; it uses direct PCM61's output as analog output, i found no opamp or buffer in the output stage. Headphone out section is very interesting though ( may be i am new to this ), the design is opamp + discrete output (nec4570c + 2sd2144), cool!! which means it might able to rival some of the low end headphone amp.... dry.gif

had a set of x-canv2 + x-psu paired with the cdp. However, I found out the sound was really sucks after comparing them with voxel's setup. His China made 8PR is really great. Later i found out that x-canV2 only improve the sound by a small margin compared to the headphone out of the cdp ppth.gif . Final decision: X-can V2, i m so sorry, i m looking for someone who can sing better...good try...but sorry...you have to go....

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mod phase I (low end mod):

While waiting for some parts to arrive, I read lots of article about CDP mods. Got some tips, so i bought 4 schottky diodes from a guy in echoloft. Threw them in, wohoo..

it really does clean up the noise. Cool.... . I cant wait for the other parts to arrive anymore!!

Got an idea pop up in my mind.. "why dont i mod the headphone out section to rival some good headamps"..

Immediately, i desoldered the original lousy opamp and pop in a NE5332. Add a 100uF cap & by pass 0.47uF cap at the power rail of the discrete output.

The result :