Sign in to follow this  
garc

need some advise pls

biggrin.gif I am a newbie and just bought a senn hd200 for gaming and intent to listen and watch dvds with my home theater system can the experts pls advise if I need a headphone amp and if I do what kind of amps would you recommend. Thank you

Actually I listen to 80s songs groups like New Order, Depeche Mode, U2 etc but more into watching action and sci fi movies as well as gaming, would Cmoy be a good choice? biggrin.gif

A very good choice for begginer or are you hungry for the very expensive.... lol.gif

Cmoy just basically built for portability, whereas other amp sounds better as the price scale goes up the ladder. Let's wait for the rest of the guys to come back from work and see their comment...

Hopefully they don't go out and chiong.

As it is I am quite please with this senn as I was using basic sony ear plugs and cheapo headphones for gaming and music listening it was until I stumbled to this site and bought a decent headphone and wow I didn't know a headphone would sound so good! But since the can cost me $105sgd I am looking at an amp in term of relativty to the price of the can. No point paying $200 or more for the amp with a $100 headphone right? wink.gif

Cmoy is a good choice if u don't really hav those "golden ears" for music. its cheap and easy to build, should sound quite decent too on your HD200

for home use can consider jason's PPA smile.gif

now doing the power jumpers for my new monster smile.gif its coming soon lol.gif

if u are using the cmoy for portable use, i recoment koss porta or sporta pro, with other low impedance phones like sony, u don't really need amps for them to sound good

If you don't mind using battery & the hassale of charging, a CMoy might be enough.

Or else something like headsave Minime which uses DC power. One question though, do you have a line out from the sources that you are using?