Sign in to follow this  
heady

Minimalist Pimeta

UPDATE - I dropped idea of fitting this into a Hudson tin. See post dated 7 Oct 2004.

Hi all,

My humble project cannot compare to bpribadi's work. no.gif Here is my board of a pimeta clone, without the extras, only one 1000uF electrolytic cap and one 1.5uF film cap for the power rails only. I am now listening to it with a AD8620 for left and right channels while the other OPA2134 is for the virtual ground and the signal ground. 3 BUF634s for L/R/G.

Surprising it sounds quite good. I am scratching my head at moment trying to figure a way to fit the cap into the tin. Somehow, my measurement is always slightly out, I am no engineer. Sigh!

The boards are meant to fold one on top of the other and so use the base of the tin as heat sink for the buffers. Of course I need to insert insulator sheet inbetween the folded boards.

I am trying to see if this is a significant improvement over my 3-channel CMOY. And my initial finding is, yes the sound is better. I can hear the sound is much cleaner. with better separation and sense of the "air" around the voices and instruments. The bass is punchy, dynamic and deep which is surprising as there is only one cap for the whole board. Maybe I just have very imaginative ears. dry.gif

MyPimeta20040928.jpg

Edited by heady

Well, I think we all agree that 'comparison' is not the theme here, the Fun of DIY, that's the theme ! yes.gif

I don't really understand how you combine the BUF634s and the OPA2134 for the pseudo ground. Don't mind to share the connection?

I want to try it when we meet up later wink.gif

Bram, we compare to learn from one another. Otherwise each will be in our own little island. Having said that, I must say that your handicraft is superb and truly a blessing for the eyes. I don't think I can ever approach it but I will do what I can for the fun of it. Besides the music is so enjoyable thru our little creations. headphone.gif