Sign in to follow this  
laser

e3c, superfi 3 or um1

Hey guys need your opinions! im a noob in this area and gona get my first pair of IEMS, which of these do u guys recommend? shure e3c, UE superfi 3 or westone um1? heard lotsa good comments abt the um1 abt affordability and good sound.. thanks for your opinions!

The e3c costs more than the superfi 3/um1 (~$150 range). I haven't tried the other two, but I can vouch for the comfort and sound quality of the UM1. With the comply tips that come in the box, you almost forget that they're there after a while. This can't be said about the e3c or UE... although you could of course try fitting the comply tips on to them. Save the difference and use it to buy more tips in future. Or, if you can hear the difference, you can buy a portable amp. And since you're only looking at 3 IEMs, you can always test them out. The UE and UM1 you can test out at Jaben or Stereo Electronics. Not sure about the e3c though.

Be careful not to listen to them for prolonged periods... my ears got quite screwed when I listened for 4 hours on a bus trip. Plus, be careful of hygiene. The comply tips are easily dirtied. Other than that, enjoy your purchase! :))

Edited by david.chew

Be careful not to listen to them for prolonged periods... my ears got quite screwed when I listened for 4 hours on a bus trip. Plus, be careful of hygiene.

What happened to your ears? Infection or something? :shocking:

well... alot is said about how good is um1. but personally i don't like it. mayb after psycho burn in will. So it up to your ears to decide..

Personal choice. I can't emphasize it enough for this case.

What one may like may sound horrible to another. I personally liked the UM1 though.

' date='27 Sep 2006, 07:40 PM' post='80636']

Damn, i must really save what I type next time.

What we choose is of no concern to you, seriously.

Choose what your ears decide, will ya?