Plexcio Acoustics

UM1 + UM56 = ?

Hey guys,

I'm quite new to the 'my ears are extremely fussy' world and also a proud owner of a pair of UM1s coupled with Shure olives. I've always dreaded taking them off when my ears start hurting after bout' two hours of listening.

I was hoping of getting your input on the UM1 with UM56 combination.

I have a few questions.

1. Do the UM56 feel like full fledged customs?

2. How different does the UM1s sound with UM56 attached?

My plan is to actually try the UM56 if they do feel like customs and eventually go on to customs in a year or two's time if I like the feel of it.

Please please please please do post pictures of yourself wearing them if you own a pair. :thumbup:

Thanks in advance for the answers and valuable experiences.

Cheers :prettyprincess:

hello, allow me to answer to your questions.

A um1 + um 56 will not not sound close to a full custom.

The um56 is only like making a custom "olives" that you had been using. And for a custom to work, the engineer will put in the driver of the earphone into your ear impression and then create the custom earphone.

mainly, it just give you a better fitting and better isolation IMO, with a good fitting, you will feel different, in term of the sound projection and etc.

I hope it helps [:

A um1 + um 56 will not not sound close to a full custom.

The um56 is only like making a custom "olives" that you had been using. And for a custom to work, the engineer will put in the driver of the earphone into your ear impression and then create the custom earphone.

I was wondering about the feeling of them in my ears because I was planning to try these first then eventually go on to full fledged customs. And also because the olives have been hurting my ears after about two hours of listening and I would like as much comfort as possible without compromising with SQ.