Sign in to follow this  
iffy

audio questions..

hey all i'm just a newbie to all audio stuff n would like to know more pls bear with my many questions..thanx in advance to anyone who would care to enlighten me on these issue ... wink.gif

firstly i am using my com as the main source to listen to music ... mostly mp3's dl from kazaa... n recently have been more interested in audio quality.

1.if i use dbpoweramp to convert mp3files to wav files will there be an improved sound quality? how abt converting a lower bitrate file to a higher bitrate? if i cant improve the sound of mp3's dl from kazaa, anyone knows where to get high quality uncompressed music?cos i was thinking if you dont have high quality sound files even you have good hardware the sound will still be sucky?

2.thinking of buying an audigy2 platinum card,will that be a good choice for music?and also to record music digitally to my mdplayer.

3.can recommend any site or book that teaches all about audio stuff from ground up?? i really need some education..hehe ..

1.if i use dbpoweramp to convert mp3files to wav files will there be an improved sound quality? how abt converting a lower bitrate file to a higher bitrate? if i cant improve the sound of mp3's dl from kazaa, anyone knows where to get high quality uncompressed music?

No. Take it like a video file. At first its quality is 352x288. VCD quality. Make that equivalent to wave. You compress it to half of that image size. 176x144 It is then distributed over Kazaa. If someone else downloads it, he reconverts it, will that video file get back its VCD quality? No. Just a 352x288 video, where 2 pixels horizontally and 2 pixels vertically are exactly the same. I.e. just a 176x144 sized up to be bigger, and of course pixellated. So in the end, you will get something which has not improved in quality. In fact, due to the compression and recompressions, quality might have actually dropped if you convert to a higher bitrate MP3.