Sign in to follow this  
norseman

Where to get iM716?

Hi, newbie here! After going thru all the headphones forums around (actually just here and headfi.org), I've decided that the iM716 probably suits my requirement and budget. Can anyone tell me where to get them and at what price? Also, I'm a bit concerned about the high power req since I'll be mostly listening to them on my Dell axim PDA. Are they ok ampless? Also, where to get a good budget portable amp and at how much (I don't even know what a portable amp looks like... :)) )? Thx a lot! I'm really hooked on the whole audiophile thing now. If only my budget can keep up... Sigh... :no:

edit: Do the filters get dirty easily? Where to get replacements? I read that they are different from the ety ones...

Edited by norseman

your dell pda doesn't do the earphones justice lol.... maybe you should get a mp3 player and earphones instead of getting a portable amp (you can get these later if you need one)? :)

oh the im716 are not available in singapore. you can only get them online on websites like www.amazon.com or ebay and ship them in using vpost :)

Edited by fallraen

your dell pda doesn't do the earphones justice lol.... maybe you should get a mp3 player and earphones instead of getting a portable amp (you can get these later if you need one)? :)

Some PDAs actually have audio quality that compares very favorably with the current crop of digital audio players. Though not very useful if you have a large music collection, their audio quality shouldn't be discredited. I can't say for sure whether the sound quality is good for your Dell axim (which model?).

I have the Axim x51v using Mortplayer. I think it should be ok, since I've seen people using Shures on theirs? If not the iM716, are there any good alternatives available locally at that price range?

If the x51 is anything like the x50 or improved, it should compare favourably with any of the top end players if not match or surpass them :)