N@Z

My 1st Apple

Like the title says, I finally took the plunge & got me an Apple. I always wanted a notebook so instead of going for the boring PC based notebooks I choose the Powerbook. Nearly got an ibook which I thought looked nicer (?) but a friend who is a hardcore mac user advised against it & convinced me to go the extra mile. More appropriately the extra 2 grand over a top spec ibook.

The spec is the same as this: http://www.asia.apple.com/powerbook/index15.html

Any helpful tips from Mac users especially OS X users? I am still learning as I only collected it this afternoon. It has been charging this evening so haven't been playing around with it much. I just find it a little odd to use. Not so much so because being a relative new notebook user but a total noob to mac. Little nicities on PC OS is not there like double clicking/tapping on the touchpad is missing. I've still got to personailize the settings to my taste though like the default cursor movement is too slow.

It looks gorgeous. The feel is so tactile. It's not as heavy as I expected for such a supposedly (I haven't tried it much remember) powerful machine. That fluorescent glowing mac icon on the lid is ohh soo sexy! Suffice to say the transition to mac is helped greatly by it as the other option was an Acer Tablet PC.

Need to play with it some more before I can write more about it... new toy! wub.gif

Trackpad double clicking is under (apple icon) -> control panel -> trackpad. Havn't used OSX much though as I'm still using OS 9.2.2

One advantage of the iBook (or ice-book as we mac fanatics like to cal it) is the free software. But they come with the G3 chip. Mine comes with the combo drive (DVD, CD burner, CDP).

I love it every time i use it. Hardly ever crashes unless I'm using Microsoft Exel.

Rameish: