Cybernaut

The BEST setup for my situation

Hi all!

I hope this post doesn't come across as the usual n00b intro deal, but it probably will anyway... sigh.

My basic question is what set of cans and amp/dac combo to get, but hopefully I have enough description for reference as to avoid the usual fan boy flame wars.

My background is as a once professional, now hobbyist musician who has a desk job (as a software developer), which affords a ton of time listening to music.

My ideal is a setup that allows me to output directly from my computer (preferably usb/dac) and also from the ipod touch.

My favorite music is rock and electronica (mostly modern rock, progressive rock/metal (lots of tight bass), pop, dnb, trance (female vocals in the mid-range), house), but I listen to many other genres also. Regardless of genre, however, a common theme is that I love "intense" music with a lot of dynamics and am looking for a sound akin to being in the first row at a loud rock concert (but obviously with the benefit of music that was perfected in the studio with many takes to remove mistakes and mastered), and that has a wide soundstage, where it feels like you're right in the middle and instruments are happening all around you.

I hesitate to tell you what I've tried so far, because it could bias the responses, but a friend at work had a Beyerdynamics DT-880 with a Fubar III amp/dac combo, which was one of the better setups I've ever heard, and yet I still feel like the cans could be more dynamic. In reality, I'm not really interested in reproducing "accurate" tonal qualities in the same way many audiophiles might, which is probably why some cans like the Sennheiser 600 bore me... For me, I rather believe it's possible to be better than reality, almost super-reality, to where you wish real life was as good. Anyway, I hope that doesn't sound silly.