Sign in to follow this  
That dude

Noob here, needs help.

Ok, i'm new at this. So i've been around the forum, i noticed something called a headphone amplifyer, some DIY and some retail. So, i own a ATH-CK7, and i use ipod 5g and zen vision m. i am a "bass head" not a fan of the mudded bass but the love banging sh*t.(like the bass drum) anyway, can someone recommend me a good headphone amp and also tell me, WHAT DOES IT ACTUALLY DO?!

:blink:

Ok, i'm new at this. So i've been around the forum, i noticed something called a headphone amplifyer, some DIY and some retail. So, i own a ATH-CK7, and i use ipod 5g and zen vision m. i am a "bass head" not a fan of the mudded bass but the love banging sh*t.(like the bass drum) anyway, can someone recommend me a good headphone amp and also tell me, WHAT DOES IT ACTUALLY DO?!

:blink:

Here's a review of a basic CMOY amp and an explaination, in layman's terms, of what a headphone amp actually do: http://www.dansdata.com/cmoy.htm

I think it would be better to audition some amps to see whether it actually result in a noticeable difference on your current setup, before plonking your cash on one. Headphone amps can range from relatively cheap to exorbitant amounts :))

The "cheaper" ones are the Crossroad amps (below $100), to the Xenos REP & RHP series (below $200), and also the PA2v2, as Top-Gun mentioned. I think you can audition the Xenos amps either in Stereo Electronics or Jaben Network. Jaben brings in the Crossroads, but I think he's out of stock at the moment.

I've tried the CK7 with LDM+, it tightens the bass a lil (nt as great as LD2+ did), gave more details and of cos made the sound brighter.

ATH-CK7 dont really produce what bass heads love, recommend u to change for a more bass-based IEM rather den getting an amp for it. (just my personal opinion)

Whoa... So much info... Thanks guys!

I'm saving up also for a um1, is that the best IEM i can get for below $200?