Sign in to follow this  
Huma Dragonbane

Need desperate help on headphone amp. (new topic)

As above, I'm planning to get one asap. What's the cheapest one I can get? What would the output be like? Can I connect it directly to a headphone? Or do I have to connect to a hifi or amplifier first? If that's the case, what's the cheapest amplifier for a headphone for this usage be then?

How about tape decks? How much do they cost as well? The cheapest ones.

I'm getting a sennheiser HD500 as well so I'm on a shoe string budget. I'm still a newbie so I'm not gonna invest in it fully yet. So what are the budget and cheapest turn tables out there?

Thanks a mill for any help. wink.gif

Edited by Huma Dragonbane

No offence but your first paragrah has revealed your lack of knowledge in turntables.......just showing concern and hope to alert U of what's impending. TT needs a phonostage either incorporated in an amplifier or outboard unit to amplify signals pickup by MM/MC cartridges to that equivalent of line level. I don't recommend used turntables as U'll need to fine tune them. Beginner turntables such as Music Hall MMF and Project are good enough and should cost below S$500. Btw, turntables are not plug-n-play equipment and will benefit from proper alignment of cartridges, tonearm, suspension etc. Please visit www.audioasylum.com and peruse the vinyl section before getting into the game.

Edited by Mackie

How would you describe a shoe string budget? Not to discourage you but it might be more trouble & expense than you envisage.

The Pro-ject Debut Phono SB (Speed Box) has a built in phono stage. You can just plug this into your standard line level headphone amp and away you go! It also comes with an Ortofon cartridge.

Tape decks try JVC or Yamaha.

How much does the Pro-ject Debut Phono SB cost?

I should have made a search before I posted that. A more relevant question would have been how much it cost in SG?