Sign in to follow this  
Shiro MS08th

Need recommendation in an entry level CD Player

Hi, as what my topic title is telling.

I would like help and guidance from you guys, cause I have no experience at all in a CDP and i'm still new in this field.

Only having 3 cans and a portable headamp.

And I wish to have a entry level setup, slowly building my equipments.

So hope you guys can recommend me some CDP, best if 2nd hand, cheaper and better deal all round.

Budget would be around $100-200.

And is Denon DCD-735 CDP good?

Haxyer is selling it at $150, so not sure whether is it good and at that price too.

Thanks in advanced!

the dcd 735 gives a very clear and neutral sound with a tight bass too.

u can come my house and test if its good anot. decide whether u like the sound or not, its all up to u.

Ooh.

I'm wondering it will be suitable for this few general genres?

Rock

Metal

Blues (Guitar)

Jazz

Bossa Nova

I think maybe one of the days can go your house to test, I live at Tampines too.

well that is good! you can come anytime during the night on weekdays or weekends too. my number is 97347285, so we can arrange a time.

i dont listen to jazz, bossa nova and metal, so i dont know. i had a metallica cd and it sound pretty good. but the best sounding one was a pearl jam cd and it totally rocks. the strength of this player appears to be clarity and does not color the sound.

a lot of players could be chose for entry level under the price range, keep ur eyes on echo loft then :))

The usual suggestions.....used Marantz CD63 (all variations), new Marantz CD5400, NADs, Rotel RCD-02 etc... But your budget seems to rule in favour of used cdps but U need to be AWARE of the risk involved. Find out about parts availability (laser pickup...yes, they eventually die). No point buying a well reviewed old player and find that there's no part to replace one it dies.

Edited by Mackie