Sign in to follow this  
jealousy never dies

Koss or Sony

Hi, absolute noob here. Juz wanna hear you guys' opinion on which phones to choose. I dun think I can afford anything >$100, so feel free to make any recommendations within that price range.

Currently I am looking at the following:

Koss ksc-35/55 (what's the diff.?)

Koss porta pro

Sony mrd-ex51/71

Any comments, as well as where I can buy it and for how much will be greatly appreciated. I prefer something comfortable, convenient and portable, though uncompromising in sound quality of course. Thanks in advance!

i've never heard either, but from literally everyone's feedback the one you want to go with is the ksc35. it's a clip on headphone. you cannot get in singapore. you can find it at www.koss.com.

the porta pro (and it's brother, the sporta pro) are the around-the-back-of-the-neck versions of the ksc-35 IIRC. ala the sony streetstyle series. you can get the porta pro at hung bros at SLS. price i cant remember.

the mdr-71 can be found for ~$70 in many places in SLS. it is an in-ear-canal type earphone. while this provides isolation it initially will be uncomfortable. IMO the 71 has boomy bass and screechy highs and a recessed mid. i have no experience with the mdr-ex51, but since it is the younger bro of the mdr-71 i would expect it to show the same sonic traits.

could you please tell us what sort of music you listen to usually? it would help greatly.

Edited by adhoc

Prices of the headphones/earbuds as per the Local headphones prices thread:

Koss KSC 55 - $45 / SLS Hung Bros

Koss Porta Pro - $85 / SLS Hung Bros

Sony EX51SP - $59 / SLS V8

Sony EX71SL - $74 / SLS V8

Other options:

Philips HP-890 - $88 / SLS Hung Bros or Aural focus (PM member El Scorcho)

Sennheiser PX100 - $79.90 / SLS Hung Bros

See the aforementioned thread for more pricing choices (1st post).

Thanks for the replies!