Sign in to follow this  
metalgear

suggest PC/software setup and settings for best sound

Hi, I'm new to this, and wanted to see how folks here are setting up their PC Audio systems to best effect:

I hope to capture details such as:

• PC or Mac
  • software ripper name e.g. lame
  • ripping settings e.g. bitrate, file type
  • audio output settings e.g. win xp driver or ASIO
  • brand of external dac
  • optical/coax cable brand/type etc

I'm particularly interested in folks trying to setup for best sound, including lossless or near lossless.

Please also include any interesting details/options like wireless streaming or NAS data setup.

I'll post mine when I set it up !

Probably one of the more hardcore pc audio guys around. Below is my normal setup.

Hardware:

PC running a RME DIGI96/8 PAD soundcard -> Belden 1695A with Canare RCAP ->Ack! dAck! 1 -> amp

Software:

Win XP SP2

Latest foobar2000 with ASIO output.

CDs are extracted with EAC

Compression consists of mostly lossless. FLAC, wavpack and monkey's audio are the top three contenders. For lossy compression, it would be .ogg mostly.

Good luck to your setup!

For a cheap and dirty way to encode your cds, check out www.ubernet.org. I feel their uberstandard is a good compromise between quality and file size. Basically it's 192kbps VBR using EAC, encoded using lame.

Heh, I'm using PC as source as well.

Onkyo SE-90PCI -> IXOS Toslink -> Citypulse DA7.2x -> Canare L2t2s Neutrik RCA - TRS connector -> nEar 05 eXperience.

Software:

Foobar 2000 with KS

CDs extracted using EAC

Basically setup is using bit perfect from PC as source and mostly using FLACs or Wave files.

I'd played around with a few sound cards including Audigy 4 Pro, LD II+ (pre) and the XMOD. This current setup is my favorite and I seriously doubt I'll be going for any upgrade in the near future. Freaking expensive hobby if you ask me about it.

Edited by sicknature

Portable Setup