Sign in to follow this  
augustineRS

Sound Blaster Exitgy 24bit/96kHz/100db SNR

I'm always switching between a Desktop and Notebook so I was wondering whether a USB 'soundcard' will be beneficial.

I do not have a decent soundcard on my desktop.

So i'm wondering whether USB soundcard can be decent?

Listen straight from the headphone jack have major distortion, so i decided on getting something extra to juice up my music.

Since the creative sale is just over, alot of cheap creative products can be found in the market passing off as used.

From wat i know, alot of the refurbished sets are actually products that didn't passed the QC initially, being reworked on, therefore cheaper and shorter warranty.

Soundbalster Extigy

Audigy2 NX

whats the difference between the 2?I can't really tell and i'm a noob in this.

Correction i see the difference between the two from the comparision chart, but is either one worth the $$$?NX have more function, ie dvd-audio playback, mainly NX support multi chanel more 6.1, 7.1

Any other suggestion?

Something i read from a reviewer

The DVD Audio, played with Creative's own MediaSource DVD-Audio player, was particularly crisp though the 24 bit onboard encoding/decoding is disabled due to a Windows limitation on USB support.

what does this mean?

Edited by augustineRS

I was considering the M Audio Sonica at one time for both my PC & mac... for the PC it's ok since it's stationary but on my Powerbook I don't want to reduce it's portability as it needs an external power source. It might work for you though.

Anyway where to find all these USB soundcards in Singapore ? I've been looking around SLS, and all I've seen are Creative products mellow.gif

The price is way too much difference. ohmy.gif

But the RCA and DTS look tempting.

Whats the price like in Singapore?

OT:is there any way to hook up a notebook to TV for screen projection?