ahgoh7

Newbie - a decent amp...how much?

Hi! Newbie here..

topic is as above

thinking of getting SR-60 ( tot it's avail @ below $100 )

saw that Creek - OBHsomething is the one to go for

am i right?

how much is it??

btw, is it easy to DIY a headphone amp

Firstly, Music By Design at Adelphi sells the SR60 for perhaps $120.

Regarding the amp, there's a wide variety of amps available in the market but you may need to audition the amps first before you decide. In my opinion, Rameish is the best person available to help you and he's our local Corda amp dealer.

Finally, it is not difficult to DIY a headphone amp but you got to decide which amp you wanna build, e.g. META42, CMoy etc. www.headwize.com is the perfect source for the designs but you got to find the components first. If you don't mind being rip-off by RS-Components, they have all the components for CMOY available. For META42, you can contact tangent at head-fi.

creek obh-11 goes at 360

creek obh-11se is around 650

estimated cost of building a DIY amp??

wat's the difference between META42, CMoy ??

sorry, VERY NEW in all these.....

Cmoy is a simple textbook implementatin of a non-inverting opamp application. You'll be surprise that some expensive headamps just simply use this circuit and charge a premium for it. The sound for the cmoy is decent with opamps like OPA2132, 2134. But it's a fun beginners diy project. I'm using the OPA2134, and it can't drive my Grado125(low impedance,32ohms) to loud volume. Lot's of distortion.

For low impedance headphones like the Grado, try the Apheared'47. It's like a curret boost version of the cmoy. http://headwize2.powerpill.org/projects/sh...pheared_prj.htm

For meta42, visit tangent's site, http://tangentsoft.net/audio/meta42/index.html . Esmtimate cost for whole project is about $250 when you use quality components. Meta42 is miles ahead of the cmoy and apheared imho.

Edited by jtfoo

yeah..