Sign in to follow this  
Absolute0

Marantz CD63 mkII KI vs CD6000OSE

Hi people, I currently have the Marantz CD63 mkII KI, and am wondering whether it is worth upgradng to the CD6000OSE (not LE). Has anyone heard both? I read that the latter suffers from grainy highs/brightness, is this a huge drawback? Also, what would be a good price to pay for the CD6000OSE? Thanks in advance! wink.gif

I have no experience with the former, but as the previous owner of cd6kOSE .. I can testify the harsh/edgy/grainy high. It can get quite irritating, especially paired with the wrong components.

Huge drawback? sort of. Because it is quite a turn off especially if you have very revealing cans or cans that emphasize the highs(something like cd3k), then u will keep hearing the source's flaw.

If you have the extra $$, I think cd7300 is a better choice.You can find the review by mackie.

Blues sorry to disagree with you here. There is a slight edgyness but it's still better than the 63. Before you turn your nose at it Absolute, hear it for yourself. But do read the bit about wrong components above. System synergy is what you should be asking. The 6000OSE with Corda HA-1 with Beyer DT-931 is quite nice.

Interconnects get the Kimber PBJ

I think my other components (HD600 with stock cable, Ety ER-4P/S, Pimeta) are not exactly bright sounding, so if the edgy highs isn't too obtrusive, it should be fine. I am actually more concerned about whether the sonic improvement is substantial enough to justify an upgrade and very importantly, the extra money spent, since my funds are very limited.