Sign in to follow this  
fox

Need help and recommendations on setup

Hi all,

I am relatively new to the audio world, but I have always been wanting to get a portable system for my room and private listening.

My portable rig is currently an Ipod 4Gen 20GB with Shure E3C. I guess that should be pretty much settled.

Now I am looking to settle my room rig. I do have a Senn PX200.

Types of music I listen to: Rock, Pop, R&B, Retro, Electronics, Techno, a bit of Jazz (trying to listen to that).

Budget: S$500-S$1,000

Things that I am looking for is total isolation from the outside world and only my music when I get back from work.

Any comments on this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

So I guess you don't need source anymore, just need to spend more on headphone amp and a good pair of headphones. Or, a good source with headphone output and a pair of cans.

So I guess you don't need source anymore, just need to spend more on headphone amp and a good pair of headphones. Or, a good source with headphone output and a pair of cans.

Any recommendations for these? Thanks.

First and foremost, U will be seeking semi-open/close-back cans (most isolation) and this criterion would narrow your choices down to a few. As for headamp, choices are also limited as only a handful of hifi shops deal in these lesser cousins to speaker amps. Those that are available are Sugden, Musical Fidelity, Naim, Cayin, Creek etc. U also have to decide on tube-based or solid state amps and since U're a total newbie in this hobby, I recommend solid-state amps without fuss.

The first thought that strikes me is Master Original amp

See discussion here - http://www.sgheadphones.net/index.php?showtopic=2589

user posted image

partnered with the following:

Beyerdynamic DT880 (semi-open)

user posted image

Beyerdynamic DT660 (close-back)

user posted image

Beyerdynamic DT150 (close-back)

user posted image

Reference links

http://www.beyerdynamic.co.uk/beyer%20pages/studioheads.html