Sign in to follow this  
adhoc

server crashing?

what's been happening recently? it's quite worrying.. blush.gif

normal lah..everyday also will crash one or two time for 15 minutes like that

Just check back a while later wink.gif

what sort of server crashes one or two times everyday?!

imagine in the future when computers control our cars and something like this happens!

well me and you can't complain because we didn't pay a single cent to host this site ..

but ah it's still much better than the old server which was very slow and had more downtime

A very reliable crashy server... must run on Windows.

sometimes i pity ablaze..

he's like spending his extra free time to mind this server..

yup. the server always down recently..the database problem again..hm...headache problem for ablaze man...

I'm studying IT, but database error is quite headache,sometime smile.gif

Edited by mychew

you make drams?

Hi guys,

the database errors are supposedly the fault of the mySQL version 4.xx which both this server and the old servers are using.

apparently, invisionboard as well as vbulletin tables get corrupted. but for various reasons, most web hosts won't downgrade the entire server to the older, less problematic 3.xx versions. I'm guessing the new versions have new features that they don't want to forego or something.

anyway, the invision support forum says that by doing a 'rebuild of the apache using cpanel' (I don't entirely know what this means, I'm just quoting verbatim) its supposed to fix the problem and it won't occur again. BUT this has been done, apparently, on the web host's side (both the old and the new web host) and as you can plainly see, it DOESN'T help one bit.

normal lah..everyday also will crash one or two time for 15 minutes like that

Just check back a while later  wink.gif