adhoc

which one to choose?

which one?! (READ FIRST POST FIRST)  

14 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

hey all,

i am a student who's building his own dream audio system. party.gif so.. kena limited budget.

so far i'm considering 2 options:

A. self assemble full computer system with a revo 7.1 - dvdrom, 120gb hdd, 256ram, 1ghz proc, revo 7.1., integrated graphics & lan; estimated cost ~ $950 total.

pros:

1. useful for other things besides music

2. can play songs without loading/unloading cds (after ripping with flac)

3. software equaliser function

4. downloading station

cons:

1. expensive

2. not convenient

3. inferior (?) sound quality

4. maintainence

B. philips dvd/cd/sacd player $782

pros:

1. MUCH CHEAPER

2. better sound quality (?)

3. stability; dependability

4. more discreet (no need for bulky monitor)

cons:

1. plays ONLY cds, dvds and SACDs

2. no equaliser function

3. not really future proof

So how ppl? any suggestions? which one would you choose?

well if i were you, i would get a revo soundcard and cd deck minus the computer system. unless your comp is slow, there is no need for a new one. well if it is really slow, you will need another new comp anyway. for playing normal audio, not too much proc speed is required.

If sound is No 1 priority then without doubt the 963a. Equaliser for me (unless really well implemented) is overrated.

philips

but you must be ready to fork out another few hundred for sacds/dvd-a and cds!

so it depends

u call that limited budget??

what about me??

hahaha

joking

headphone.gif

This sounds interesting! Hmmmm....

Count me insignificant.......

I've been there but didn't do that party.gif

Meta Bon 0013

sipher, still -quite- limited compared to say, ablaze.. heh whistling.gif

Option 1, If you are upgrading your computer system, otherwise Option 2, is my choice.